Grey Cup winners dedicate their win


The winners of the First Annual Grey Cup Cashspiel held at the Amherst Curling Club on January 22 -24th (pictured above, left to right: Ian Maclean, Mike Bass, Howie Grey and Paul Hawkes) have decided to dedicate their win to their long time team mate
and friend Desi Hurley Jr.

The Grey Cup pictured above is the 1st Grey Cup ever donated to a sporting event
by the then Governor General Earl Grey 109 years ago. Governor General Earl
Grey gave a trophy to football in 1909 but had donated this trophy two years
before to Amherst Curling Club to help in the celebration of curling when its
members wanted to orchestrate the 1st Maritime Curling Bonspiel in 1907.

The Club would like to thank their sponsors for the event Hatheway Ford, Blueline
New Holland, Sobeys and R.A. Farms Inc. for their support. Teams challenging for
this coveted trophy in this 3 day event were from Halifax, Sackville (NB), Pictou
and Amherst. Plans are already being put in place for next year’s cashspiel.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply